Exhibition and book presentation Cologne-Kalk: A Fine Art Journey

Please scroll down!

Small-format pictures, on-screen presentation

of larger artworks and book presentation

Town Hall Gallery in Cologne-Kalk: March 09 – April 03, 2020

Group exhibition with 36 artists from 26 countries (3 – 10 small-format artworks of each artist)

With special presentations by the award-winning artists Hyun-JIN Kim from Taiwan and Cleo Wilkinson from Australia. They each received the first jury prize for mixed media and print graphics in 2019 and an integrated solo exhibition as a reward:

The gallery in the town hall of the very lively district of Kalk is a well-known art center in Cologne. High quality art exhibitions regularly take place there and it is a well-attended art center, partly thanks to the various advanced evening courses that take place there almost every day. See also the whole tour of the exhibition below! The exhibition was extended due to the Corona crisis. The images could be viewed until July 28, 2020.

On-screen art show with winner and book presentation

“A Fine Art Journey”

In addition, 98 large-format pictures from 35 countries will be shown by an on-screen presentation. They will be published in the art gift book A Fine Art Journey:

Each picture is shown for 30 seconds on screen. The film can be stopped or relaxing music added. There is also a list of all participants in this book project – on the wall. You will find all pictures and the winners of the on-screen presentation in the following blog post. Please click on the red link:

Gallery with one selected artwork of each artist

(small-format exhibition)

Random sorting: Click on a picture to enlarge it and start the picture carousel!

The focus of this special small-format exhibition is once again on award winners and finalists, with invited guests also taking part. Many exhibiting artists are featured in our books “Excellent Art” and “Kunstretreat 2019”, which we also present in the exhibition:

Ai-Wen Wu Kratz, Gerhard Rasser, Gerhardt Gallagher, Takanori Iwase, Yvonne Welman, Ana Galvão, Bie Flameng, Maud du Jeu, Rowena Božič, Sophia Koopman, Derwin Leiva, Ivana Gagić Kičinbači, Cinla Seker, Ann Dunbar, Kurt Ries, R. Geoffrey Blackburn, Valentina Anopova, Ping He and Jani Jan J.

The event is accompanied by the lyrical presentation of the hosts: Gabriele Walter is once again presented with haiku poems, that are fitting for the topic “Traveling”. About 60 haiku poems are sealed in foil and attached to the railing of the gallery.

Welcome to our exhibition tour:

We have the pictures largely sorted by colors and embedded in our meditative concept “relaxation with art and color”. It begins in the hallway with “colorful”, followed by black-white, red, orange, yellow, green, blue and violet.

Click and start the show! The artist names correspond to the picture frames from left to right.

Book presentations in the exhibitions:

Opening times of the Town Hall Gallery in Cologne-Kalk:

Monday – Thursday: 9.00 – 16.00
Friday: 9.00 – 12.00
Address: Kalker Hauptstraße 247-273, 51103 Cologne, Germany


Australia, Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA + Germany by the hosts

Group exhibition with small-format pictures:

Cleo Wilkinson (first jury prize – print 2019)integrated solo exhibition
Aya Swoboda
Gerhard Rasser (two jury prizes 2019)
Jani Jan J. (guest artist)
Bie Flameng (book design award – cover “Excellent Art”)
He Ping (finalist 2019)
Ivana Gagić Kičinbači (book design award – title page “Excellent Art”)
Viggo Salting (finalist 2019)
Elina Autio (Amber Award 2019)
Ann Dunbar (guest artist)
Maud du Jeu (book design award – back cover “Excellent Art”)
Kurt Ries (host)
Gerhardt Gallagher (finalist 2019)
Takanori Iwase
(grand juror 2019, first jury prize 2018, jury prizes excellence 2016, 2017, 2019)
Carla Kleekamp Ferdinandus (guest artist)
Sophia Koopman (book design award – back cover “Excellent Art”)
Yvonne Welman (book design award – back cover “Excellent Art”)
Eva Laila Hilsen (finalist 2018)
Rune Baashus (book design award – title page “A Fine Art Journey”)
Agata Dworzak-Subocz (finalist 2019)
Ana Galvão (finalist 2019)
Valentina Anopova (finalist 2019 “A Fine Art Journey”)
Rowena Božič (honorable mention 2019 + finalist 2019)
Nuria Pena (jury prize excellence 2016)
Peter Kadrmas (guest artist)
Maria Heed (finalist 2019)
Hyun-JIN Kim (first jury prize – mixed media 2019) integrated solo exhibition
Cinla Seker (jury prize excellence 2019 “A Fine Art Journey” + finalist 2019)
Julia Dubovyk (guest artist)
Tamara Rogozina (guest artist)
Barry Cottrell (finalist 2018 and 2019)
Ai-Wen Kratz (guest artist)
Derwin Leiva (guest artist)
Geoffrey Blackburn (finalist 2017)